Random

New Hobby.

I need a new hobby. I really love the idea of simple living, minimalism, decluttering, etc. And one of the main points behind that type of lifestyle is the idea that you can clear up space and time to do the things you love. I’m in love with that idea. But now, I have a lot of space and I have a lot of time… but to be honest, I don’t know what to do with it.

During the week, the days go by rather quickly. I work full time, try to get in 45 minutes of exercise, have to prepare breakfast and lunch for the next day, run errands, clean the house, etc. So there really isn’t THAT much free time during the week. There is some, but I do love reading so that usually fits right in there and completes the day.

Then I get to the weekends. Tons of free time! I can do anything! But I don’t know what to do. Or how to spend the time. Most of the time, I don’t even know what I want to do. So I think I need a new hobby. I used to be really into baking but now that I have cats, it’s a bit harder to leave cookies or cupcakes out to cool down. I tried knitting once and found that it wasn’t something I enjoyed. I tried yoga and didn’t like it. I like gardening but there is only so much I can do with a small patio. I write letters to people but they don’t usually write back so there is only so much I can say each time and I don’t want to over-do it… a handwritten letter every now and then is wonderful but getting one every week would be a bit much. I like reading but even I have limits on how much I can read at a time! I don’t like watching movies that much and can only watch TV for short periods of time.

I love going on cruises. But with having to work and not having an unlimited amount of money, I can’t go on a cruise every weekend! Although now that I put that in writing… it does sound amazing.

I don’t want a  hobby that takes up a lot of space or requires a lot of “stuff” to do. A small amount of stuff is fine. I don’t want a hobby that I HAVE to do all the time or where people depend on me to do it (in other words, I don’t want a hobby that ends up being a second job I have to work).

Hmmm… any ideas?

 

 

15 thoughts on “New Hobby.

  1. I love this post because I don’t know what I’m going to do if I ever get my house decluttered. LOL.. one thing that I love doing, and maybe because I don’t do it very often, is painting pottery. Kind of the same thing as painting pictures I guess. Anyways, I love painting it but I don’t know what to do with it all either. I don’t need the stuff I paint. I also have all the horse stuff to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love photography. Have you thought about another needle work? My daughter and I are learning (slowly) to embroider. Sketching or painting are fun. You should wander around a local craft store, or look at adult ed classes. Something may spark your interest.

    Like

  3. Have you thought about working with Habitat for Humanity or Girl Scouts, or a Botanical Garden, or something? I’ve wanted to work with Habitat for a long time, but when the weekend gets here, I just can’t force myself to get up so early when I could be catching up on sleep! haha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, that’s the problem. There are some weekends when I really don’t want to do anything if it was a busy week so I wouldn’t want to feel obligated to have to do something. And some weekends are busy so I wouldn’t want to have to schedule around volunteer stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

