Simplicity

Project 333 – Done.

If you are into minimalism, simple living, intentional living, etc then you’ve probably heard about Project 333 (basically a way to downsize your clothing and accessories). I’ve heard of it but was never really interested in it. Then I eventually decided I’d look into it and see what the hype is all about. Basically the “challenge” is to use 33 items of clothing for 3 months. What counts as an item: clothing, accessories, jewelry, outerwear and shoes. What doesn’t count as an item: wedding ring, underwear, sleep wear, in home lounge wear and workout clothing. You basically choose your 33 items, box up the rest and see if you can live, work, and play in those 33 items for 3 months.

Challenge accepted. I counted up my items that count (I didn’t even try to pick and choose, I just needed to get my starting point) and found that I only had 32. That was easy! No need to even box up anything! I don’t wear jewelry at all and don’t accessorize with anything – unless you want to count my prescription glasses but they’re more of a need (if I could go without them, I would).

If you’re interested this was my list of items that counted:

-3 pairs of denim blue jeans, 1 pair of black jeans

-11 regular shirts, 4 work shirts, 4 long sleeve shirts

-1 sweatshirt, 1 sweater, 1 cardigan, 1 rain jacket, 1 warm jacket

-1 purse, 3 pairs of shoes

 

 

6 thoughts on “Project 333 – Done.

  1. Interesting project! I have far less clothes than many women, mainly becasue I have a hard time finding clothes that both fit me right and that I like. I clearly have some odd body proportions (haha) and I am picky. However, I still have “excess” (for me) clothes in my drawers/closets because I am so afraid to get rid of older or borderline acceptable clothes — due to my difficulty finding clothes. Better to have something to wear rather than nothing!! Maybe i need more “faith”? A couple times in past, with great trepidation, got rid of some old clothes – and to my surprise I found replacements shortly thereafter. THANKS for letting me ramble.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

