Random

Armpit Discoloration.

I just read a quote that says “Brick walls are there for a reason. And once you get over them—even if someone has practically had to throw you over—it can be helpful to others to tell them how you did it.” It is from The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch and Jeffrey Zaslow (personally I don’t really recommend the book, but the quote is good). Anyways, I had a weird armpit problem that I was eventually able to heal so I’m posting this in case someone else can someday benefit from this information! And if this does help you, please post a comment so I know that it did some good!

My armpit problem started out with a weird discoloration in one armpit, the other armpit was fine. It was just a circle in my armpit that was a darker color but it seemed to form almost a perfect circle (see armpit picture on the right below). It didn’t hurt, wasn’t dry, didn’t look like a rash and didn’t itch. I tried changing deodorant, not using deodorant, etc but nothing really seemed to help. Then there was a point where it did seem to be more like a rash and the outside part of the circle got really dry, but again it was still forming a circle (see armpit picture on the left below). The doctor thought it was a fungus infection and/or a rash and gave me pills to take as well as a skin cream (which then caused my arms and legs to actually break out into a rash!). I had never had a reaction to any medication before so that was weird and not helpful. The pills and skin cream actually didn’t do anything.

Aug 15Aug 24

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The thing that did actually help was switching to a “deodorant” that is a mixture of salt and water. Literally, the ingredients are “mineral salts and purified water.” For me, it seemed to keep me from smelling too badly when I sweat and it’s nice to know exactly what I’m putting on my skin. It wasn’t scented or anything. I’m thinking maybe the sale was helping it heal and go back to normal… because not using deodorant didn’t seem to make it better. Picture below shows how it all cleared up. Hopefully this posts helps at least someone who is running into this same issue and can’t seem to find a solution! *Side note: I definitely recommend the spray deodorant that is just salt and water. If you use a roll on one with a slightly stinky armpit on accident, it starts smelling like stinky armpit. The spray is much better and it dries fast.

04-18-17

6 thoughts on “Armpit Discoloration.

Leave a Reply

