Books

Book Review: The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondō

book1

I really enjoyed this book. Before reading it, I saw that it had some mixed reviews but I am glad that I read it anyways. Her method may seem crazy but I do see how if it is followed correctly, it actually can work and would eliminate the need to continually declutter. It also makes sense why she says to pick up each item to consider it – in doing so, you force yourself to consider everything one item at a time. She does treat her objects as though they are living but the ways in which she does it just seem like a practice of being grateful and thoughtful. Overall, I would recommend this book – just be sure to read it with an open mind.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondō

  1. I LOVE this book. It’s helped me a lot. While, yes, some things sound a little hippie-ish and that can be hard for some people to get past (I personally loved it, but I’m a yoga teacher so I’m already a hippie), I think that everyone should at least take a gander at it and try to apply the principles to their life. Thanks for the love on my blog and I hope to read more of yours soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Neither have I! But I did use the “spark joy” idea to help decide on whether I should keep some things in the closets and kitchen. I’m also afraid that I don’t really like any of my clothes that much but I still need something to wear so I can’t go too crazy with the KonMari method yet.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

