Books

Book Review: Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

book

This book was okay. I really loved the other Liane Moriarty books but this one just wasn’t as good (in my opinion). The story is built around “the day of the barbecue” and you very quickly learn that something happened on that day that changed everything. But you don’t find out what happened until a little bit into the second half of the book. I found the second half of the book (after you find out what happened) to be way better than the first half – everything suddenly has more context. Around the last quarter of the book (maybe a little bit more) all the characters get more depth and I felt that they really came alive more at that point but then the book ends. I think if this book was written starting with the second half, it would have been an amazing book and I would have highly recommended it. As it is written, I wouldn’t recommend it but I would recommend other books by this author for sure.

*Read January 2017

Leave a Reply

