Books

Book Review: A Mother’s Reckoning by Sue Klebold

book2

I really enjoyed this book. Once I started it, I did not want to put it down (which is rare for me for a non-fiction book). Even though I remember a lot about the Columbine shooting when it happened, I had never considered it from this perspective – the story is written by the mother of one of the shooters. The grief, sorrow, shame, guilt and sadness are evident throughout the story and yet it is still extremely interesting to hear what she and her family went through and where she ended up after things settled down. The simple kindnesses mentioned in the book are great reminders to consider other peoples perspectives and how a little bit of kindness can mean so much. I also feel like I learned quite a bit from the sections on suicide. And of course, you should never believe everything you read in the news – after reading this book, I realized just how much I read about Columbine was incorrect or inaccurate or just not true. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested.

*Read April 2016

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: A Mother’s Reckoning by Sue Klebold

Leave a Reply

