God

Christian Songs for the Pyromaniac.

If you listen to Christian music, you can probably think of at least one song that mentions fire. On my way to work one day, the radio station played two songs in a row that talk about fire and it made me laugh. It’s funny because they don’t mean fire in a literal way, the artists do not want you to take their lyrics literally. Yet if you think about it in a literal way, it’s like “whoa, that’s just scary!” I do grasp what they are saying and I understand the meaning/analogy of it but thinking about it literally TOTALLY changes the song. Examples:

“God, I’m running for Your heart, I’m running for Your heart, Till I am a soul on fire, Lord, I’m longing for Your ways, I’m waiting for the day, When I am a soul on fire.” -Soul On Fire by Third Day

“Build Your kingdom here, Let the darkness fear, Show Your mighty hand, Heal our streets and land, Set Your church on fire, Win this nation back, Change the atmosphere, Build Your kingdom here, We pray.” -Build Your Kingdom Here by Rend Collective

Start a fire in my soul, Fan the flame and make it grow, So there’s no doubt or denying, Let it burn so brightly, That everyone around can see, That it’s You, that it’s You that we need, Start a fire in meYou only need a spark to start a whole blaze, It only takes a little faith, Let it start right here in this city, So these old walls will never be the same.” -Start a Fire by Unspoken

 

8 thoughts on “Christian Songs for the Pyromaniac.

    1. Exactly! It’s like I get it but still… There’s a popular song now that says “Beginning… just let that word wash over you…” and I get what they mean but at the same time, the other part of my brain thinks “how does a word wash over someone…words aren’t liquid…”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m a big fan of Fireflight, Red, Thousand Foot Krutch and Demon Hunter. Some of those are more rock than metal but they all speak to me in some way:) I’m glad my comment brought a little joy! So did your post:)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

