Simplicity

Clothes Count.

A while back I wrote a blog post about all the clothes and shoes I currently owned – https://prosperityandcalamities.wordpress.com/2015/08/17/an-inventory-of-my-clothes. I’m sure a few of those numbers have changed since then. Recently I took all my clothes out of the closet in an attempt to organize them and get rid of anything not needed. I really want to move towards a more minimal/simple lifestyle. After taking all my clothes out, I quickly realized that I have no idea what I actually need! I was able to organize my clothes and put them back in order (typically I get too lazy after doing laundry and just put them all back in the same spot) but I did not get rid of anything. So I have given it some thought and I think this is a good list of what I actually need or should aim to have:

-Jeans: 4

-Shorts: 4

-Work Shirts: 6

-Workout Shirts: 6

-Workout Bottoms: 6

-Regular T-Shirts: 7

-Long Sleeve Shirts: 7

-Jackets/Sweaters: 3 (one warm, one light, one for rain)

-Beanies: 1

-Gloves: 1

-Thermal Tops: 4

-Thermal Bottoms: 4

-Lounge Pants: 4

-Socks: 14

-Warm Socks: 4

-Underwear: 14

-Bras:5

-Pajama Sets: 2

-Bathing Suit: 1

-Work Shoes: 1

-Regular Shoes: 1

-Water Shoes or Sandals: 1

-Dressy Outfit: 1

Does that seem about right? What would you add or take away? What numbers would be different for you?

6 thoughts on “Clothes Count.

  1. I need to do this too. I have way too many clothes, but I also like to have the same thing in different colors. Weird? I hate clothes shopping! So when I find something I like, I tend to buy multiple colors and call it a day! pilch92 makes a good point about laundry too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i have read that if you have not worn it in a year, then it should go. i do a closet clean once a year and donate to goodwill. each april i go to the local swap meet and buy new t-shirts and the old ones go to goodwill.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I tried to do that once (get rid of anything not worn) but my mind thought of it more as a challenge… so I ended up wearing everything I owned – not because I actually liked the items or because they fit well – but because I NEEDED to wear everything at least once.

      Like

  3. I have been trying to downsize too, but with clothes, I like to have more- you never know when the power will go out for days and you won’t get to do laundry. I think you need more of everything. Your shoe count and gloves are way too low.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a good point about not being able to do laundry, I’ll keep in mind the idea to keep backups. I have actually only had 1 pair work shoes, 1 pair regular shoes and 1 pair water shoes for at least half a year now and it’s been working out alright. What do you recommend for shoe counts and why?

      Like

Leave a Reply

