Simplicity

Christmas Cards.

IMG_20151220_174325
Pic of the Christmas card.

Usually, I have all my Christmas cards ready to be mailed out right after Thanksgiving. But this year, I decided not to send out Christmas cards. I didn’t make any and didn’t buy any. Simple, right?

But then, a relative ended up in the hospital so I bought a box of Christmas cards and sent one. Then I figured if people sent me Christmas cards, it would be nice to have something to send back. In years past, I would send out a bunch of Christmas cards and also receive a bunch of Christmas cards. This year? I got 3. So I happily sent out those three cards back. And then another relative ended up in the hospital, so I sent a card there, too. And then I decided to send cards to three more people who I usually correspond with via letter/mail.

It actually feels good to feel in control of who I am sending cards to. Maybe that seems silly as I’ve always been in control of it so maybe I just really feel more intentional about it. Instead of just doing what I traditionally do and send out cards to those everyone would expect me to send cards to – I am making a choice and decision to send out each card individually. And now, I have a bunch of cards left over that I can pack up with my Christmas stuff after the holiday is over and pull out and send out next year! I’m really liking the way this turned out…

One thought on “Christmas Cards.

Leave a Reply

