Food

Banana Cream Pie.

IMG_20151117_201635237I love Banana Cream Pie and have been wanting to perfect a recipe so that I can someday make a perfectly delicious banana cream pie. This year, I started off with a recipe that I found online and the pie turned out alright. However, I learned a few things I would do differently next time, such as mix the banana slices into the pie before pouring it into the crust. And I did follow the advice of some of the reviewers and did not bake the pie which I do remember from making it last year that when you bake it, it does leave a weird crust on the top.  The main problem I saw with the pie was that it was runny, more like a pudding than a pie – so I think next time I’ll add a little more flour and maybe be sure to use whole milk and not 2%. The link to the original recipe is at the bottom of the post, but here is what I plan to try for next time. If you have any tips or suggestions to perfect this recipe, please let me know!

  1. In a saucepan, combine 3/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup flour, and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Add 2 cups whole milk in gradually while stirring gently. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until the mixture is bubbly. Keep stirring and cook for about 2 more minutes, and then remove from the burner.
  2. Stir a small quantity of the hot mixture into 3 beaten eggs, and immediately add egg mixture to the rest of the hot mixture. Cook for 2 more minutes; remember to keep stirring. Remove the mixture from the stove, and add 3 tablespoons butter and 1.5 teaspoons vanilla. Stir until the whole thing has a smooth consistency.
  3. Add 4 slices bananas to the mixture then pour into a cooled baked pastry shell. Possibly I’ll try this again with chocolate chips added as well.

Original recipe – http://allrecipes.com/recipe/12151/banana-cream-pie-i/

 

 

Leave a Reply

