Books

Book Review: Alone with God by John F. MacArthur Jr.

bookcover

This book was not what I was expecting (maybe that is my fault). I found this book hard to get into and to me, the sections within each chapter did not really seem to flow. It goes through the Lord’s Prayer and offers biblical insight/thoughts in each section but I didn’t really find anything new or encouraging – this book did not deepen or spark a desire to pray more or differently. In the daily bread chapter, there was a section called low view of life and it seemed to suggest that Christian nations will always do well and pagan nations will suffer – which I thought was odd. And also at the end he discusses praying for the salvation of others but I found the way he did it to be more confusing than it should have been. He seems to say God wants everyone to be saved yet there is an elect group that will be saved and yet not everyone will be saved and I’m pretty sure I get what he’s saying, but really think he could have made it more clear.

*Read November 2015

One thought on “Book Review: Alone with God by John F. MacArthur Jr.

Leave a Reply

