Random

The Facebook Situation.

Earlier this year, I left Facebook. Then in July, I went back on it when I started this blog. I looked at my old blog post about going back to Facebook (link at bottom of this post) and in that post, I talked about how I no longer feel I need to check all the posts and how I don’t check it on my phone. Well, that’s changed. I do try to check all the posts again and I do check it on my phone!

The insanity of it all. I hate it, yet I go back to it. I want to be free from it, yet I can’t seem to really get away. It reminds me of the scripture Romans 7:15 “For what I am doing, I do not understand; for I am not practicing what I would like to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate.” 

I feel like if I leave it, I will leave all the connections, all the people I know, my family, my friends. Though I will still be here and they will still be there – it isn’t the same. I will not get to see the pictures of the kids or pictures of where everyone is going, I will not know what they are doing or what they are thinking. We will not be connected. I might try to email or hang out with people but they will forgot to tell me the things they already posted – the things they feel the world already knows. And how many will write back? How many will have time to get together? It seems that if we want to be connected to people, we need to connect through social media. I want to say that isn’t true, but I am afraid it might be…

https://prosperityandcalamities.wordpress.com/2015/07/18/leaving-and-going-back-to-facebook/

5 thoughts on “The Facebook Situation.

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I hate Facebook but it’s hard to get away from it. I do things a little differently though. I have a few friends and a few family members and then the rest of the people are all people that I don’t know personally. A lot of them are only acquaintances or people with the same passion for horses so I still see a lot of what’s going on but not too much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

