Food

Food Plan.

My favorite “eat the rainbow” chart is located here: http://www.precisionnutrition.com/color-chart. There are a ton of others on the internet but I like this one best. This was my starting point. I wrote down the items I like for each color. Green: Snap peas, broccoli, spinach; Red: Tomato, walnuts, cherries, raspberries, watermelon; Orange: Cantaloupe, corn, citrus fruits, mango, carrots, sweet potato, peach; White: Black tea, apples; Purple: Blueberries, strawberries, blackberries, grapes.

Then I wrote down a few other nutrients I want to make sure I get: Iron, Protein, Calcium. This is where my planning got messy because our bodies absorb these things at different rates and some foods are better than others, etc. So I just wrote a jumbled, messy lists of foods from these categories that I enjoy and would be most likely to eat: beans, quinoa, cereal, spinach, pumpkin seed kernels, eggs, tuna, almonds, cashews, pistachios, walnuts, greek yogurt, peanut butter, cheese, spinach, broccoli, milk, oranges, canned salmon.

After all this, I took one item from each of the colors in the first paragraph and a few items from my jumbled messy list to come up with breakfast/lunch/snacks for the week. My husband plans and makes dinner so I didn’t worry about that. Here is what I came up with:

Breakfast: Yogurt with walnuts; then black tea when I get to work

Snack: Mango and a little trail mix

Lunch: Spinach salad with tomatoes and hard boiled eggs

Snack: Strawberries and a babybel cheese

Leave a Reply

