Books

Book Review: Sacred Marriage by Gary L. Thomas

book

This book is about marriage with the tagline, what if God designed marriage to make us holy more than to make us happy? The book explains why marriage is important and gives the biblical aspects of marriage. It has some examples and stories. I’m glad I am already in a good marriage and not having marital issues because this book definitely would not have helped me if that were the case.

I did not find the book interesting, challenging or inspiring. This book didn’t really make me think or hold my attention. There were a few good quotes I was able to get out of the book but not worth reading the whole book just to get a few good words of wisdom. I would not recommend this book.

There is a part in the book where he talks about this situation where he was about to speak at an event and called home to check on his wife. His wife was crying on the phone and he thought she was falling apart. Then he later read an article by a woman who said tears for woman are like sweating and therefore not a big deal. So the next time his wife cries, he treats is as not a big deal – he applied what he read to his wife and felt it was just a gender difference he needed to understand. I thought this was such a horrible example about marriage because he didn’t ask his wife about it or talk to her about crying. This could have been a good example of why communication is important. There is another story he shares about another couple and a problem they were having, but it seemed almost as though his whole purpose in sharing the story was so that he could explain how he fixed the problem. I really didn’t like his style of writing either. I was ready to stop reading the  book about 1/5 of the way through but kept writing in case it got better and so that I can write a fair review. The book didn’t really get better.

*Read October 2015

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

