God

Scripture – Colossians 3:12-13

“Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive.”

*My thoughts: I like this scripture for two very basic reasons, (1) I like lists and (2) I like scriptures that tell me what to do. As Christians, these are the things we should have: compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, patience, forgiveness. The first two are very similar and I think they can easily be lumped together – a compassionate heart would lead a person to kindness. The last two (patience and forgiveness) are usually well understood and even tough they may not be easy to do, they are not too hard to understand. The middle two however are a little more vague and could be confusing if the wrong definition is used. To me, humility is putting other people’s need before your own and not thinking of yourself as the most important. This can be done and shown in many different ways, some major and some very simple. Meekness is, to me, a gentleness or a calmness in a person. A person who wouldn’t get angry or violent or yell or be pushy, but the exact opposite of that. All of these things might not come naturally to me, but I can work on each one and I can keep them in mind and use them as a reference for what I should do in any situation. It’s a good scripture to keep in mind at all times.

Leave a Reply

