Random

I Have Sponsored Kids

Capture

I do not have biological children. I do not have foster children. I do not have adopted children. I do not have step-children. I have sponsored children. Does this make me a parent? I doubt anybody would think so. Does this get me gifts on Mother’s Day? No, it doesn’t. Does it mean my husband and I are working alongside Compassion International to release these children from poverty in Jesus’ name? Yes, yes it does.

My husband and I sponsor three children through Compassion International. This means we pay $38 per month per child, and give extra for their birthdays and Christmas. This means those three children receive educational opportunities, help when needed, access to health care, hygiene training, food, and the opportunity to learn about Jesus. We pray for these children and their families every day. I write to the children each month and send them stickers, postcards and photos. They write back a few times per year and draw pictures on their letters and tell us about their lives. It’s truly life changing – not only for them, but for us as well.

The first child we sponsored is a 10 year old boy from Burkina Faso (Africa) who wants to become a police officer, likes to read but has trouble with math, loves running and soccer, and has 6 siblings. The second child is a 14 year old girl from Peru who wants to be a doctor, does well in school, loves volleyball and dancing, and has 1 brother. The third child is a 7 year old boy from Bolivia who loves chicken and french fries, is very social and smart, has a visual disability, and absolutely loves cars.

I may not have “children” as people often use the term, but I do have three kids who hold a very special place in my heart.

5 thoughts on “I Have Sponsored Kids

  1. This was a really beautiful post! I think what you are doing is amazing, there are so many children in the world that need help – and you are helping them, I think that makes you much more of a parent than people with children that don’t really care about them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

