God

Scripture – Genesis 6:5-6

“The Lord saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every intention of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually. And the Lord regretted that he had made man on the earth, and it grieved him to his heart.”

*My thoughts: This is probably one of those scriptures that brings up more questions than answers. But I like it because it puts me in my place. It reminds me that God created people but he did not make them perfect nor does he fully control the thoughts of actions of every person. He created people and they turned out to be wicked and evil. And God did not just regret he had made them but it grieved him – you have to care about something in order for it to give you grief (sorrow, sadness, heartache). I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to bring sorrow, sadness, heartache and grief to God. I don’t want the thoughts in my heart to be evil or my actions to be wicked – but I do know that I am human and it can happen. People can get caught up in their own thoughts, their own ways and the evil that is in this world but there is a way out. We can ask God to help us fight against the evil and if we always look to God for guidance and try to follow in the footsteps of Jesus, we do not have to live in sin. Let us work today to not cause God to grieve.

Not surprisingly, the flood is talked about right after this scripture (in case you were wondering), but maybe we’ll get to that another day.

Leave a Reply

