Books

Book Review: A House Divided by Robert Whitlow

A House Divided

This book was about a family of lawyers (dad, son, daughter) and a case against a big corporation in town. Based on the description of the book I read, I had expected some suspense or action or excitement but really the book is more of a drama in which not much actually happens. The father struggles with alcoholism which is a big part of the story, possibly the main story line. That part was semi-interesting to learn about. I didn’t feel the characters were fully developed into people I cared about, one of the characters I really didn’t like and couldn’t tell if the character was supposed to be likable or not. I am perfectly fine with drama or just regular fiction stories in which not much happens – but I at least need to feel a connection to the characters, which was not the case with this book. This book did remind me a bit of The Litigators by John Grisham which was also about lawyers and didn’t seem to have too much of a plot or characters that I connected with. Robert Whitlow definitely puts more of a Christian spin into the book than Grisham and it doesn’t contain any bad language or inappropriate scenes. On the flip side, I feel that John Grisham does write about law and lawyers better than Whitlow. All in all – this isn’t a book I’d recommend.

*Read July 2015

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

