Books

Book Review: Yes, Chef by Marcus Samuelsson

Yes Chef

When I first started reading this book, I didn’t really think I would enjoy it but thought I’d give it a try. I’m really not into food or cooking, so an autobiography about a chef isn’t usually on the top of my reading list. However, this book was awesome on so many different levels. The way he describes food and the flavors, cultures, combinations that go along with it gave me a better appreciation for a good meal. His descriptions of the places he traveled to gave me the desire to travel and explore those places! He also talks about adoption (he was born in Ethiopia and adopted by a couple in Sweden) and race (he never knew he was different until other kids pointed it out and as a chef he really was part of the minority). His book also details the life of a chef and how the culinary world works, but more than that – he also details his own life including friendships, deaths and a lot of life lessons encountered along the way.

*Read July 2015

One thought on “Book Review: Yes, Chef by Marcus Samuelsson

Leave a Reply

