Simplicity

Too Much Stuff in The Kitchen

Do you ever stop and think about what is stored in the kitchen? It’s amazing to me how much stuff we actually have in the kitchen that isn’t food. A majority of the space is occupied by pots, pans, dishes, cups, glasses, etc. I like to think that I get rid of excess clutter and items that are on longer used on a regular basis. However, taking a look at each and every item in the kitchen would make me out to be a liar if I said I didn’t keep stuff I didn’t need or use all the time. Do I really need 10 different sizes of mixing bowls? Do I need three different sizes of plates (appetizer size, salad size, dinner size)? And the utensil set we have came with small forks, bigger forks, small spoons and bigger spoons – why not just a medium sized fork and medium sized spoon? Not too long ago, my husband and I actually went through the kitchen and donated a lot of items to the thrift store. But even so, there is still a lot of stuff left in there! Next time you’re in the kitchen looking for something or cooking a meal, consider how many items you have that you don’t really use and consider donating them to a good cause! Spaces that aren’t crammed with items are lovely spaces indeed.

Leave a Reply

